May 23, 2011

Dear Family-

Well, the world didn’t end this week. I don’t know if you heard or
not, but some people here were saying that May 21 was the end of the
world. I guess they made a mistake. They had a pretty good cover-up
though. The crazy guy in the van who started the whole thing announced
that the end of the world “started” on May 21. It will end in October.
Now I’m just excited for November to come and we’re all still here. I
love crazy people.

I’m glad the end didn’t come because it was a really good week. This
week, we tried to visit as many members as we could, active and less
active. Even though I’ve been in Littlerock for almost three months
now, I still don’t feel like I know the ward very well, and members
can make all the difference in the missionary work. So we divided our
area into sections and visited members in those sections.

One guy we visited ended up being a car guy. He had
a ’56 Packard Clipper that was almost perfectly restored. It was
gorgeous! I don’t really consider myself a car guy, but I couldn’t
stop looking at that Packard. I wish new cars looked as good as the
old one’s do. I’m glad that we were able to spend some time to get to
know the owner (or “caretaker” as he calls it). He hasn’t been to
Church in who knows how long. Talking to him was a little awkward at
first, but pretty soon he started opening up. By the time he left, he
told us that we can come back any time, and he even wants to keep in
touch with us after we leave the area.

Another less active guy that we visited turned out
to be a car guy as well. I can’t remember what his car was, but it was
also really old, in great condition, and gorgeous. When we first
knocked on the door, his wife answered. I didn’t think she was going
to let us in. We didn’t know if they were active or less active, so we
told her that we were trying to get to know the ward better. She
responded with, “Oh really?” and a very skeptical look on her face. It
was extremely awkward, but we started talking to her, and eventually
she let us in. Once we were inside, we met her husband, and the
conversation was much less awkward. He eventually ended up showing us
his cars.

It’s amazing how much of a difference just talking to people can make.
I’ve seen less actives show up to Church simply because you talked to
them. A lot of times people will be more likely to invite you back if
you take the time to get to know them. I think it’s extremely true
that people don’t care how much you know until they know how much you
care. Hopefully this week, we can go back to some of these people and
they’ll be more likely to listen to the Gospel.

Thanks for all of your prayers and support. I love you!

-Elder Emery

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

