July 11, 2011

Dear Family-

It’s been an awesome week! We were able to go to the temple on
Tuesday, which was an incredible experience. I love being there. I
also found out that I’m staying with Elder Everitt for another
transfer, so I’m pretty excited about that. I don’t really have any
cool stories for this week, but I did have a thought-provoking
experience. This Sunday I was sitting in Sacrament Meeting, and I felt
some pretty strong emotions. On one hand, I felt so happy, grateful,
blessed to have the Gospel in my life. On the other hand, I felt sad
that an investigator we had invited to come wasn’t there
(she ended up accidentally going to the wrong church, so it turned out
okay). It was strange to feel peace and joy at the same time as a
little sorrow, but I realized that that must be how Heavenly Father
feels sometimes. He must feel joy for His righteous children who are
doing their best to return to Him, but sorrow at the same time for His
children who do not yet want to come to Him. It’s interesting how
attached you get to your mission sometimes. I feel like the longer I’m
out, the more I love the people here, and love my mission in general.
At first everything was an exciting blur and I was just ready to see
the next thing. Now my emotions are much more attached to the progress
of the people I visit. An awesome experience with an investigator can
make my day the best in the world. When they miss out on blessings, it
can be so sad. I hope I stay here for a while because it is getting
harder to say bye to people.

Anyway, I ramble to much. I hope all is well. I love you!

-Elder Emery

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

