April 18, 2011

Dear Family-

Transfers came up, and a lot of unexpected things happened. Elder
Bautista got transferred to the Littlerock Spanish branch, so I’ll
still be living with him. My new companion is Elder Ewald! I didn’t
expect that I’d get to be companions with him again, so I’m really
excited! In case you forgot, Elder Ewald was one of my MTC companions,
the one with the red hair. It will be cool to work with him in the
field now. I’m also glad that I’ll still be living with Elder
Bautista.

This week we did a couple fun things as a zone. Last Monday, our zone
had a talent show. It wasn’t meant to show off our incredible skills,
but it was more just us getting together and having a fun time. One
missionary did a pushup for his talent. Another balanced a broom on
his chin and twirled a pencil at the same time. My favorite one was a
race two Elders did. The race was solving a Rubik’s Cube. The crazy
part though was that one of them was blindfolded. It was a really
close race, but the blindfolded Elder won.

We also had a huge service project this week. All 22 missionaries in
the zone came. It was a lot of yard work, but it was really cool to
see everyone there. That’s one of the things I love about this zone,
we’re really united. I’ve seen a few service projects where most of
the zone came, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen an entire zone show up
for one service project. I was thinking about it this week, and I’m
starting to realize how important unity is. One of the reasons I love
my favorite companion is because I felt like we were each there to
support the other. If he needed help, I tried my best to be there for
him. When I needed help, he was always there for me. It was the same
thing with my favorite district. We helped each other a lot. I
definitely felt a lot of unity in that district. I feel the same unity
in this zone. Work can still be done, even if the unity isn’t the
strongest, but the experiences are so much more memorable if we’re
united. That’s just one of the many things I’m learning on the
mission. I don’t feel like I’m here to learn more doctrine, or even
how to teach. I have learned a little bit about those, but I feel like
I’ve learned much more about principles to live. I’m learning more
about things like patience, faith, charity, and diligence; and not so
much about things like how to ask effective questions, or what takes
place in the Spirit world. I love my mission so much! I really feel
like I’m learning to be a better person, and not just learning.

Anyway, I love you guys! Thanks for all of your prayers and support.

-Elder Emery

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

