September 27, 2010

Dear Family-

It’s been a pretty great week. I really like working with my new
companion, Elder Anthony. He’s very relaxed and fun to be around, but
he also works really hard as well. This week was one of those weeks
where we worked really hard, but didn’t see a lot of “success” in
terms of numbers. I’m glad that we were able to keep working hard
anyway. I have a philosophy about serving a mission. Even if you don’t
teach a single lesson throughout the week, if you still keep working
hard and you’re obedient to God’s commandments, you are truly a
successful missionary. It’s easy to remember that when I’m working
with Elder Anthony.

One of the rewards for this week is that we had dinner with the
Ramirez family twice. Every time missionaries have dinner at their
house, they play a game called LDS 500. It’s a board game that Brother
Ramirez invented and is easily the best board game I’ve ever played.
The board is a race track and you roll dice to see how many spaces you
move. Before each turn, you draw a card, such as “roll two dice”,
“move any car back one”, “blown engine” (go back to start) etc. The
second night this week, which was my third or fourth time playing, I
finally won. Hopefully I’ll have a few more chances to play before I
leave this area.

Well, I love you and I hope that life is treating you all very well.
Have a great week!

-Elder Emery

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

